Help Desk Software

When does HESK send email notifications and to whom?

Here is a brief overview of what email notifications are sent in HESK and when:

Customer submits a new support ticket:

  • email is sent to the customer,

  • if "Auto-assign tickets" is ON (Admin panel > Settings > Help desk tab), ticket is assigned to one staff member and a notification is sent to that staff member only,

  • if "Auto-assign tickets" is OFF, notification is sent to all staff members who have access to ticket category and "A new ticket is submitted with owner: Unassigned" selected on their Profile page (Notifications tab).

Staff submits a new support ticket within admin panel:

  • email is sent to the customer,

  • if an owner is assigned to the submitted ticket (either manually selected or auto-assigned), notification is sent to the assigned owner,

  • if ticket is submitted as "Unassigned", notification is sent to all staff members who have access to ticket category and "A new ticket is submitted with owner: Unassigned" selected on their Profile page.

Customer replies to a ticket:

  • if the ticket is assigned (has an owner), notification is sent to the owner only,

  • if the ticket is unassigned, notification is sent to all staff members who have access to the ticket category and "Client responds to a ticket with owner: Unassigned" selected on their Profile page.

Staff replies to a ticket:

  • email is sent to the customer.

Staff moves a ticket to a new category:

  • if ticket is already assigned (has an owner), no notifications are sent,

  • if "Auto-assign tickets" is ON (Admin panel > Settings > Help desk tab), ticket is assigned to one staff member and a notification is sent to that staff member only,

  • if "Auto-assign tickets" is OFF, notification is sent to all staff members who have access to the new ticket category and "A new ticket is submitted with owner: Unassigned" selected on their Profile page (Notifications tab).

Staff member posts a note to a ticket, assigned to someone else:

  • email is sent to the assigned staff member.

Staff member sends a private message to another staff member:

  • email is sent to the recipient of the private message.

Staff uses the "Reset password" form:

  • email with a password reset link is sent to the email address entered into the form, if it matches a staff member email address.

Keep in mind: email notifications are never sent to the staff member who performs an action (submits a new ticket, assigns a ticket to himself/herself, moves a ticket to a new category, ...); that staff member already knows it happened.

 

Help Desk Software